Tags

, , , ,

Bonjour.

Je vais le Musee du Louvre. Not for a  few more weeks, but I am excited about actually communing with the great works in la terre promise. One of my students asked if I planned to kiss the steps as we entered the building. I just might.  I spent a year at the world’s greatest art museum without ever crossing through her doors, as I wrote my three favorite of my nineteen and a half books  (The Red Finch is about 50 % complete). That is of course, my Louvre Trilogy. Hiding Mona Lisa, Finding Fritz Gerhard, and Rescuing Rembrandt.

My good friend Dave Kegel once referred to The Louvre as ‘this art museum in Paris’ that he and his wife Val visited. Since we were in Sunday School at the time I didn’t publicly correct him, but I have had  fun ragging on him about that several times since. It isn’t just an art museum, it is the art museum. Designed first as the palace to the kings and queens of France, threatened and rebuilt and evacuated, it has a long history, the most interesting, at least to me, the setting of my trilogy.

I am sure as I climb the marble steps to gaze at The Winged Victory of Samothrace that I will be looking over my shoulder for my mysterious and yes, lovable, art thief turned Louvre curator Alain Darnay. Of course he was never there, as Jacques Jaujard was during the 1939 evacuation of the Louvre, but I am not sure that as I wander past the wonders of the musuem, especially as I pass his favorite painting of all, La Jaconde (aka known as Mona Lisa) that I can separate him and the other characters, who aside from Jacques did not exist from The Louvre.

PhotoFunia-1448930874

(Here is what the covers of the trilogy might look like in the museum itself.)

Hopefully for those who have not yet read The Louvre Trilogy this is enough to pique your interest. If you have read at least one, merci beaucoup. If you haven’t, you can find them in paperback and kindle versions at http://www.booksbylynnmurphy.com and http://www.amazon.com.

I will blog about my European adventures, so be sure to check back and see how it went.

 

 

 

 

