1NBBCDSC_0802

I am four chapters short of finishing my WIP, The Blue Butterfly. It’s a YA time travel adventure that uses a blue morpho butterfly as the mechanism for setting the time travel into motion. I think I’ve made it plausible and possible and I love how the story is progressing. I am considering something that I’ve heard other authors do, but I have never tried.

This will be 19 books and counting for me, but I’ve never had a celebration to announce the birth of a new book. I’ve just always quietly celebrated with me, myself and I. I’ll show them to my family who will acknowledge the new addition to our side tables or book shelves, I might show off a copy the next day after a proof arrives at work, but I’ve never had an EVENT. So I’m thinking its time.

I would like to have some books on hand to sign, some of my artwork, photos and collages that relate to the book on display, have some refreshments and invite friends and people I haven’t met yet to celebrate with me. I’m not quite sure where this will happen, and I’m  not quite sure how to go about setting it up.

I’m excited about this book, I’ve had to do considerable research, I love the cover, I like the storyline. It’s not like anything else I’ve ever written.

I will confess that sometimes I feel a little isolated when it comes to my writing. I have read all the articles about how indie authors only sell about 400 books in the life of the book and those are all to their family and friends. That isn’t true for me. I am happy to say that I have books that have sold many more than 400 copies, but it is true that most of those sales went to total strangers. If my friends read my books, most of them don’t tell me.(And I do appreciate the ones who mention it when they do.) People I know find it interesting, I think, that I write books, but I think its a little surreal to them. I remember my supervisor at a teacher in service  holding a freshly printed copy of Terezin Twilight and turning it over and remarking “it looks like a real book.” I think that one of the reasons I would like to have a book launch is to  dispel the idea that my indie published books aren’t as ‘real’ as traditionally published ones.

All that being said, I still find getting the word out the most challenging part of publishing. I never know how someone finds my books, I’m never sure how to measure whether or not advertising works and I don’t want to spam Facebook and Twitter. But I have great hopes for this book and want to do whatever I can to make it a success.

Of course, the most important thing is writing a good book. So I’ll get back to it. More information on the details to follow. In the meantime, check out my other books at http://www.booksbylynnmurphy.com and visit https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Blue-Butterfly/1477211222571546?ref=bookmarks for information on The Blue Butterfly.

