Tags

, , , , , ,

If you’ve read any of my books published thus far, you know they fall into three genres: Contemporary (Christian) Romance, Historical Romance and YA. I will probably always write in those genres, but I’m breaking out into a new area- something that falls into the thriller arena, with a little history and romance thrown in for good measure. Here’s the back cover copy:

A handsome museum curator who hates the Nazis…and loves art maybe a little too much. A beautiful art thief who has a crush on the curator. A Nazi officer with a talent for forgery. All three are in a desperate race to save the world’s most famous painting from Adolf Hitler. Part thriller, part romance, part fiction and part historical truth, HIDING MONA LISA raises once again the question of whether or not the Mona Lisa hanging in the modern day Louvre is the real La Jaconde….

Okay, some of you are thinking…yeah! Another book set in WWII! And others are going….really, Lynn? Another book with Nazis in it? What can I say about this one? It combines the two things about which I am the most knowledgeable- art history and the Holocaust/WWII. The book is in the very early stages, I’m still doing my research and creating the characters. I did do a beautiful cover. I have to thank my oldest son for introducing me to PIxlar, which lets me customize those stock photos. Ian says this one “looks like a real book cover.” (Huh, I thought all the others were real…)

For those who don’t know what the title is about: When the Nazis started stealing art treasures in every country they conquered, intending to fill the  future Fuhermuseum with the greatest art collection ever, the staff at The Louvre decided that they would not let Hitler have their works, so they hid almost all of it. When HItler marched down the Champs Elysee into Paris and made his way to the Louvre, hoping to plunder its riches, including the Mona Lisa. he found nothing but empty walls and chalk outlines of where the paintings had been. After the way, amazingly, ALL the artwork returned to the Louvre. That much is fact. Now what if some of them weren’t the real paintings, but good forgeries? And what if several people who seemed to be working together tried to outsmart each other and get their hands on the most famous work of all….

So now you’ll have to wait and see what happens. Until then, you can be inspired by The Monuments Men or check out my other books at http//:www.booksbylynnmurphy.com

Here’s a sneak peak at the new cover:

Image

 

 

