Tags

,

I am at home from my day job, where I teach English and Art to K-12 students in a small private school, due to the weather making its way across Atlanta. We are south of the airport, so we aren’t metro Atlanta, which is good most of the time, but bad in this kind of weather. I don’t even think out little town has a snow plow. This is the second time in two weeks that we have been out of school for ice and snow. This almost never happens. We woke up and had just started breakfast when we lost power. It’s back on, at least temporarily, but this is supposed to keep up until sometime tomorrow morning, so school is out again for tomorrow.  I have the gas logs going and we have enough food that doesn’t need to be cooked to last three days. My husband cut his business trip short and came in yesterday before this all started. I’m not going anywhere- I learned the last ice/snow event that my little sports car does not like ice.

I’m in that spot where I just published a new book ( Save The Last Dance For Me, available on kindle and at http://www.amazon.com) and I am doing research for a new historical novel, so I’m not writing today. I’m doing a little marketing and planning the 8th grade trip to DC in April. I also drug out a copy of one of my favorite books to read. My children, ages 17 and 19, always want snow days, but then very quickly get bored.  We started the day with a chess marathon, then they went out to access conditions on the golf cart. (We live in a town with 100 miles of paved cart paths and three golf courses….) They want to go anywhere that requires driving, but we told them that isn’t happening. Should be an interesting two days….

If you’re snowed in, you might want to browse  www.booksbylynnmurphy.com  and look for a book.

Stay safe and warm while you read.

1cov2

 

