I like all my books, I really do, but I’m partial to Only For You. Of all of my books it was the easiest to write. That’s partially due to the fact that The Time Of My Life was written first and is really about what happens after the events of Only For YouThe plot was outlined in the other book and all it needed was filling in of the details that were referenced but never fully fleshed out in The Time Of My Life. It was the fourth book about members of the same family. The books aren’t exactly a series, because they can stand alone, but they do have crossover characters (which many authors insist is essential for successful marketing). The main male character is Dr, Evan Jones, who started out as a very minor character in my second book, which many of my readers have never read because it was traditionally published, albeit not terribly successfully, and the rights just reverted back to me. ‘;m working on revision, I promise.

The book is a love story, but it is also a story about overcoming adversity. It’s about emotional and physical and spiritual struggles. Evan turns out to be a character that you care about, one you want to find the happiness that has eluded him  most of his life. I loved the way he developed from four pages in the book in which he first appears to the last page of The Time Of My Life.  In Time, he’s already become a strong person that we see has great strength of character. In Only For You, the reader gets to see how he got there.

Don’t ask me where the story came from, I really don;t know. It just kind of…happened. But that;s how it is with all of my books.  I go out for a run and a whole chapter plays out in my head. I wake up in the middle of the night and know exactly what I’m going to type the next day. Sometimes it seems as if I’m actually hearing the conversations between the characters in my head and seeing their actions and reactions. I wrote only for you, all 75,000 words in less than two weeks. It just flowed, it became real, it took over. I was sad when it was finished, but I knew the characters of Evan and Casey would be in the next book. They’re actually an integral part of my current work in progress too. I expect them to show up in at least one more book about the O’Brien and Lansing families.

It’s as if all the books that precede and follow this one are held together by this book in the middle, which is interesting, as the two main characters started out as very minor characters indeed. I know when I first created them I never expected Casey and Evan to be a romantic item. In the book in which they were created, it would have seemed an impossible task, and yet years later, here  it is. And both are characters I’d like to know in real life, people I would admire. The story is, I hope, inspiring, romantic, memorable.

Interested? You can check it out along with all my other books at http://www.booksbylynnmurphy.com.

Cover002 (444x640)

 

 

