On September fourth I turn 50. I do not want to be fifty. When I turned thirty I was expecting my first child, so I had something else to think about. Turning forty wasn’t really a big deal either. But fifty really bothers me.

There are a number things I had hoped to accomplish before I hit fifty. Here’s my bucket list, as it were, of what I wish I could accomplish in the next six weeks:

1. Weigh in the 120’s again. I am really trying. I run, bike, try hard to eat right. But I do like to cook and I enjoy a good meal. I’ve lost six pounds. It could happen.

2. Have a teaching job in the county I live in. I keep applying for jobs but never get interviews. I am qualified. I have 13 years experience teaching. I’ve applied for thirty seven positions I could fill in the last three years, not even one interview. Not sure what’s up with that. The situation forced me to take two jobs that didn’t turn out for the best. One school had no money to actually pay its teachers, the other questionable principles. (If I could afford to just write I would.)

3.See Phantom Of The Opera on Broadway. The closest I’ve come is seeing the theater broadcast of the 25th anniversary, which was nice, but not exactly the same as the Broadway experience. (Keeping this on the before sixty list).

4.Go to Europe. I’d like to see France, England, Ireland, Italy. Even some of the historical sights where some of my books are set. This is another one I’ll keep on the list for completing in the upcoming decade.

5.Have a novel in Amazon’s Top 100 Paid Books. Again, not something I think is going to happen in the next six weeks, but I can dream, can’t I?

6. Make the NY Times bestseller list and just write for a living. I guess that’s always been the dream job (except for the brief period of time in the early seventies when I thought it would be cool to be a control agent with Maxwell Smart and 99). Honestly, of all the things on this list its the one thing I wish had actually happened. Doesn’t mean I’m going to stop trying. If you’d like to help make it a reality, you can check out my books at http://www.booksbylynnmurphy.com.

For the next six weeks I’ll work at trying to work toward those writing goals and hope for the others to fall in place. And try not to think about turning fifty.

cover previewJTOYnew cover previewCover

