It’s been a slow book sale week. I usually don’t talk about my sales to anyone other than my husband, who thoughtfully asks each day if I have sold any books. Actually it’s been a slow two weeks. Part of that may be due to the fact that I went on a ten day vacation and wasn’t where I could easily tweet, promote, or follow my book activity. I took a look at last year’s sales reports and I sold 28 books in the US last June and 91 books in the UK. Granted, I’m ahead of that this year with 138 sales in the US and 36 in the UK and I’m grateful for every one of those sales. And I know the month isn’t over for a few more days. I’ve been told I obsess sometimes over those sales reports on Amazon, and that is probably true. But right now it’s my only salary.

I was recently displaced from my teaching job and in the area in which I live there is a decided lack of positions for Art and English teachers ( and a lot of competition for the few that come available) so I am currently in a position to try and change careers, which I’m finding isn’t easy either, or make this indie publishing thing work as a ‘real’ career once and for all.

I must admit that is what I’ve always wanted to do- maybe not as an indie author, but to be a full time published, selling author.  Even as a child I would make books out of construction paper and notebook paper and fill them with stories.  I have always written, and there is always a story in my head. (My husband has finally stopped looking at me strangely when I say there are a lot of people walking around sharing space in my brain.) I’m not sure if losing two teaching jobs in two consecutive years through no fault of my own is a sign or not, but in any case, I really want to make it work.

To do, that, to call it a career, I need to triple my current book sales. I read an article when I self published for the first time that said that I shouldn’t expect this to ever happen, because most self published authors only sell about 400 books in their life time and those are only to their friends and family. The writer of the article said not to expect anything much after you have exhausted your facebook friends list. Okay, I don’t  even have 400 friends on FB. And I have sold more than 400 books in the last year and a half. I only know of a handful of people who have bought those books, and as far as I know, none of my sales were by people related to me.

My son talks about the ‘law of attraction’ which means that you focus on your dreams and goals and they come to you- I guess it’s a little like if you build it -or write it- they will come. I do believe that I can write. I have put the books out there…now I’m hoping they will come, the readers who will help me realize my dream.

So while I’m standing at this crossroad, at this time of change once more, I have to figure out the steps to making my dream come true. And to all those people on my FB list, if you could, tell two people, and ask them to tell two people, and so on and so on…

Excuse me while I translate some important dialog inside my head that is competing with the writing of this post. If you’d like to come…check out my books at http://www.booksbylynnmurphy.

new cover previewCovercover previewJTOY

